Weblog #4 – Toys!!

Okay, I’ll be the first to admit that I’m a bit of a tech geek. I freak out over all sorts of electronics. Since getting into this youtaite thing, I’ve been gushing over audio gear.

Some of you know that I began by borrowing my brother’s Blue Snowball to record. I later upgraded to a Blue Yeti (huge upgrade). Currently, I’m using an Autio-Technica AT2035 with a Scarlett 2i2 interface. Love it!

I’ve also upgraded my headphones over time. I used to use simple $15 earphones. Later, I upgraded to an AT-m40x for mixing and a PSB m4u2 for enjoying music. I’ve added the Plantronics Backbeat Sense for when I’m in need of some mobility.

I’ve already got a wishlist of what I want next. There’s a matched pair sense of small-diaphragm condensers from MXL, the CR21’s, that I’ve been itching to get. I play guitar and if I can, I’d like to record some of my own playing. A matched pair of SDCs are one way to record this!

I’m also REALLY REALLY REALLY eager to get my hands on a digital piano or midi keyboard interface. One, because I’m a huge fan of the piano, and two, again because I hope to work on my instrumentals one day.

Anyway, what gear are you setting your sights on? Feel free to hit me up if you ever feel like talking about gear. I’m a bit of a fanboy ^^”

Leave a Reply

